Last night I came home pretty late from work…it was a rough day. I had asked Dane to make burgers and sweet potato fries since he will be home before me, but I realized he had soccer and so dinner was not made. I was starving, and so staying up a little late to make a good meal was okay with me. Instead of the sweet potato fries, I made sweet potato pancakes and used them as the buns. I also had some bacon and threw that on top of the burger with some home-made mayo. The burger was tougher than I wanted it to be, but that was my fault, I probably mixed the meat too much. Oh well, it was still a good meal!

Tonight I had to make the expensive pork chops and didn’t really have a recipe in mind. I looked up different pork chop recipes and found one by Paula Deen that’s Paleo friendly! Here’s the recipe:

Maple Glazed Pork Chops

Original recipe by Paul Deen

Ingredients

4 teaspoons chili powder

1 t sea salt

4 boneless pork chops, or you can use bone in chops, the original calls for 6 (10 0z) chops

2 T coconut oil

3 T balsamic vinegar

1/2 c Pure Maple Syrup

1/2 c chicken stock

Directions

Combine chili powder and salt. Sprinkle it over both sides of the pork.

Heat coconut oil in large skillet over med-high heat. Brown both sides of the pork chops. Then reduce the heat to medium, and cook until the meat is done.

While the meat is cooking, start on the glaze. In a small skillet, heat balsamic vinegar over med-high heat. Cook until it’s reduced by half. Then stir in the syrup and stock. Reduce the heat to medium and cook until it’s thick and syrupy. By the time the meat is done, your glaze should be ready. Paula says it takes about 5 minutes but it took a little longer for mine to thicken up.

Transfer to plate and pour glaze over the chops or serve on the side.

 

As a side, I roasted some spiced butternut squash and pineapple. I just sprinkled it with chili powder, paprika, cinnamon and salt. Drizzled some coconut oil and roasted in the oven for 25-30 minutes at 400 degrees F.

Wow, this dinner was like eating a dessert! We probably shouldn’t make this one as often because it’s so sweet, but wow is it good! I wonder if the pork would taste as good with regular priced pork chops? I guess I’ll have to make it again and find out….ha!

It’s not really a pretty dish but trust me, it’s very yummy!

Maple Glazed Pork Chops with Roasted Butternut Squash and Pineapple