So yesterday was another beautiful 70 degree day except very windy. So windy, that it blew our patio furniture all over the place. We did our weekly grocery shopping and went to Trader Joe’s.  The nearest Trader Joe’s is about 30 minutes away from us but it’s worth it. So since the day was so nice, we decided to grill. We went to a local butcher shop and spent way too much money on meats…but I know they will be tasty. We bought some salmon for yesterday, short ribs for tonight, and pork chops for later in the week. It was the pork chops that were so expensive. That was the only meat we didn’t actually see the price of and so when the butcher said “bone-in or boneless” I made a quick decision and said boneless. As we walked to the register, I looked down and saw were spending $30 for 4 chops! Ugh! These better be good for this price.

So for dinner I made Grilled Salmon with a Citrus Salsa Verde, originally made by Giada De Laurentiis. The only thing that I subbed was the Agave Nectar. We used maple syrup instead. Since Dane is great at grilling, I had him grill the salmon and I made the salsa and the Cilantro Cauli-Rice (Practical Paleo). It was so windy that Dane had trouble controlling the fire, but everything turned out great. Though the Cauli rice tastes nothing like rice, I thought it was delicious. Who knew that there were so many ways to prepare Cauliflower!

Grilled Salmon with Citrus Salsa Verde and Cilantro Cauli-Rice

So originally I was going to make pork-chops today, but Dane begged to make the braised short rib recipe. What a perfect, cold, rainy day to make short ribs that will stew all day in the kitchen. Dane thinks I’m weird with food and weather, but I totally love to make soups or chili’s on cold winter days. I think we’ve seen the last of our beautiful weather, so that is why grilling that salmon yesterday was a good plan. I hope we have the same kind of winter we did last year…cold but not miserable and no snow!

Here’s our planned menu for the week:

Sunday

L: Left Over  Cauli Rice

D: Basalmic Braised Short Ribs (Practical Paleo)

 

 Monday

L: left overs

D: Burgers with Sweet Potato Wedges

 

Tuesday

L: Salad

D: Andouille  Chicken Sausage with onions and peppers

 

Wednesday

L: Left overs

D: Pork chops with Roasted Butternut Squash and Pineapple

 

Thursday:

L: Left Overs

D: Chicken  Piccata with Mased Cauliflower (I’ll post the recipe later in the week)

 

Friday:

L: Left Overs

D: No ideas yet!

 

