The weather was beautiful today, which is nice since I didn’t have to work today. Though I spent most the day cleaning and doing laundry. I always feel like this is what I do on my days off. When I work a few days in a row, Dane destroys the house. He cooked the other night and it was a disaster in the kitchen. It gets a bit frustrating when I only have one day off and I have to spend it cleaning. I did have time to experiment in the kitchen a bit. I attempted another batch of pumpkin muffins. I found a recipe that was pretty similar to the Practical Paleo one but it had a whole can of pumpkin instead. Well it turned out horrible. The tops burnt but the insides stayed very mushy. Plus, they tasted horrible. What a waste of pumpkin! I will figure out the perfect muffin though, I know it!

As planned for the week, I made a southwestern style stuffed acorn squash. You can find the original recipe HERE. We only had one large acorn squash instead of two. I also used ground beef (organic, grass-fed and hormone free of course!) and added some extra spices. Dane likes spicy food, I like somewhat spicy so I added a little red pepper. I also added Emeril’s Essence Seasoning, not store-bought. We love this seasoning mix, so I had made a huge batch awhile ago. I think next time I make this I’ll add a green pepper to it too and maybe cilantro. We loved it though. The sweetness of the acorn squash was perfect mixed with the savory spicy beef mix. Dane gobbled it all up. I ate half of mine and I’m saving the rest for lunch tomorrow. I just scooped out the squash and then topped it with the mix. Can’t wait till lunch time at work tomorrow!

Southwestern Stuffed Acorn Squash

 

