You never know what kind of weather you’re going to get in the Midwest. A few weeks ago it was chilly around 50 degrees and now it’s a partly cloudy 80 degree day. So it’s my day off and what did I do? I experimented in the kitchen Paleo style!  The other day, I was very close to buying a variety of coconut butter flavors. Then, I looked up how to make coconut butter and saw how easy it is to make. All you have to do is blend organic unsweetened coconut flakes. How easy is that?!

I recommend buying a Vita-Mix if you don’t have one already. This machine is amazing and has come in handy with our healthy eating. I actually wasn’t able to find organic coconut flakes but I did find the unsweetened kind. All I did was throw a bag in the machine and instant coconut butter. I tried it and really wasn’t too amused with just the plain flavor. Though, having a plain jar around might come in handy with some recipes… I LOVE chocolate and have been craving it so badly. So I poured in some coco powder, added a teaspoon of vanilla, and some cinnamon. Mmmm what a treat! You can eat it right out of the jar, or use it as a dip or spread. I dipped some banana chips in them today and it was a perfect little snack. I didn’t eat much because I was kinda full from taste testing.

So since I only had one more bag of coconut left, I decided to make a pumpkin flavored butter. I made the coconut butter first, then added two spoonfuls of organic pumpkin, some cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. You can also do pumpkin spice but I didn’t have any on hand. I mixed it up and WOW. I love pumpkin so much and this is exactly what I needed for the day. It will be a nice Fall treat! I decided to make a regular Pumpkin Butter with the remaining can of pumpkin. I just threw that in a pot with some leftover homemade applesauce, cinnamon, ginger, cloves and nutmeg. Set it on High to boil for a bit then simmered for an hour. Another yum snack! I also discovered this butter is great for your skin. I spread some on my peeling arm, (part of my arm was sunburned from my vacation) and then rinsed it off with butter. I patted my skin dry and not only is my skin moisturized but smells good too. Though, I don’t think I will be doing this often.

 

The other day my mom was passing through Kansas City on her way up to Minnesota to see a friend. I decided to make a Fall themed dinner and made a Butternut Squash soup with Mustard Chicken Thighs and Broccoli.

I found the Mustard Chicken Thigh recipe in my new book that I’m reading PracticalPaleo. I based my soup off a recipe I found on Modern Paleo: The Blog I spiced it up with some cayenne pepper, used organic gluten free veggie broth instead of chicken and added more carrots since I only had small carrots.  Very delish!

 

