Ok, so the first week was going well then I gave in horribly. We realized that we really weren’t prepared for the diet quite yet. For instance, Dane went to work thinking they had Paleo options at work. But there wasn’t anything so he thought sushi was friendly. I told him that we couldn’t do sushi yet since we’re doing the Whole 30 first. Fortunately for me, I have a salad bar at work. When I forgot my lunch on Wednesday, I just ate a spring salad, with eggs on top, cucumbers, mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower, and drizzled it with oil and vinegar.

The problem I will face with this diet is constant low blood sugar. Because I’m not getting a lot of carbs, since most of the carbs I was eating was coming from bread/gluten products, I keep getting low blood sugar. It’s hard when I’m working and taking care of patients when I suddenly feel the effects of low blood sugar. If you’re not familiar with it, you feel sweaty, extremely hungry, shaky, and you feel like you’re about to pass out if you don’t eat something. Not good when you’re helping a Fall Risk patient to the bathroom and they sit on the pot for 20 minutes.

So what menu do we plan for the week? Here it is below:

Tuesday ( we had to start with dinner because Dane couldn’t find anything Paleo for lunch)

Dinner: Chili – found this recipe on my friend Amber’s blog

Wednesday: 

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs

Lunch: Leftover Chili

Dinner: Cauliflower Curry Soup – found on Melissa Sevigny’s blog

Thrursday:

Breakfast: Scrambled Eggs

Lunch: Leftover Chili (Dane) Salad Bar (me)

Dinner: Spaghetti Squash and Marinara with Gluten free Chicken Sausage from Trader Joe’s

Friday:

Breakfast: Scrambled Eggs

Lunch: Leftover Chili (me) Salad Bar (Dane)

Dinner: Left over soup

So, Friday is the day I messed my plan up…First of all I ate a doughnut hole at work that a nurse insisted that I eat.  I don’t know what came over me, but I instantly stuck my hand in the bag and gobbled it up. I’m pretty sure my sugars were getting low and my body was craving it…That wasn’t the end of my mistakes. I went out to dinner with two of my friends from nursing school. I figured Joe’s Crab Shack wasn’t too bad because I could get a steam pot and just eat the yummy seafood. I did pretty well, but I gave in and had a glass of wine…not too bad. But then we got dessert and I just gave in again to sweetness. I have a horrible weakness for sweets, and I know this will be my constant battle.

Well today we are starting over. I bought two new Paleo books, Practical Paleo written by Diane Sanfilippo and Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People who Love to Eat by Melissa Joulwan. I will be organizing our meals for tonight and the coming week so we can go grocery shopping. I just need to keep working on avoiding those sugary foods!!

 

